---
title: "Shared Views"
description: "Learn how to share saved views in Contentstack to enhance collaboration. Assign view or edit permissions for users or roles seamlessly."
url: "https://www.contentstack.com/docs/headless-cms/shared-views"
product: "Contentstack"
doc_type: "guide"
audience:
  - developers
  - admins
version: "current"
last_updated: "2026-07-22"
---

# Shared Views

Contentstack’s shared views functionality allows users to collaborate by sharing saved views within a stack. Once a view is shared, any modifications made by users with edit access will be visible to all collaborators, ensuring a consistent and up-to-date view for teams. This document outlines how to use and manage shared views effectively.

To share your saved views, log in to your [Contentstack account](https://www.contentstack.com/login/), and follow the steps given below:

1.  Navigate to your [stack](/docs/headless-cms/about-stack) and select the [**Entries**](https://www.contentstack.com/docs/headless-cms/about-entries) or [**Assets**](https://www.contentstack.com/docs/headless-cms/about-assets) module.
2.  Within the **Saved Views** tab, you will find all your saved views.
    
    **Additional Resource:** Refer to our [Save Your Views](/docs/headless-cms/save-your-views) document for more information.
    
3.  Click the **vertical ellipsis** next to your saved view and select **Share**.![Shared\_Views\_1.png](https://images.contentstack.io/v3/assets/blt2d43f51baca745a8/blt69b183a590ddedb7/67c6fe98c66031868a204878/Shared_Views_1.png)
4.  In the **Share View** modal, search for and select users or roles to share the view with. Assign one of the following permissions:
    
    *   **View**: Users can view the shared view but cannot update it. However, they can modify and save it as a new view.
    *   **Edit**: Users can make changes to the view. Any updates they make will be visible to everyone with access.
    
    ![Shared\_Views\_2.png](https://images.contentstack.io/v3/assets/blt2d43f51baca745a8/blt29ea9026528e6477/67c6fe98938bf576f1f9e878/Shared_Views_2.png)
    
    **Note:** If you have **View** access to a shared view, you cannot grant **Edit** access to other users.
    
5.  Click **Manage** to:
    
    *   View users or roles with current access to the view.
    *   Change access levels (**View** or **Edit**) for users and roles.
    *   Remove users or roles if they no longer need access.
    
    ![Shared\_Views\_3.png](https://images.contentstack.io/v3/assets/blt2d43f51baca745a8/bltcff9aa2c7cd2252f/67c6fe986f443b59cb011612/Shared_Views_3.png)
    
    **Note:** Only the [owner](https://www.contentstack.com/docs/headless-cms/types-of-roles#owner) or users with edit access can modify the access settings.
    
6.  After assigning permissions, click **Share**. The selected users or roles will:
    *   Receive a notification via the **bell icon**.
    *   See the shared view in their **Entries** or **Assets** list.

Shared views streamline collaboration by ensuring that team members have access to relevant filtered content. By assigning appropriate permissions, you can control how others interact with the shared view.