---
title: "Leave a Stack"
description: "Learn how to leave a stack on Contentstack, manage your stack roles, and transfer ownership or delete for seamless collaboration."
url: "https://www.contentstack.com/docs/headless-cms/leave-a-stack"
product: "Contentstack"
doc_type: "guide"
audience:
  - developers
  - admins
version: "current"
last_updated: "2026-07-23"
---

# Leave a Stack

You can leave a stack when you no longer need access or want to stop collaborating. However, stack [owners](/docs/headless-cms/types-of-roles#owner) cannot exit directly. They must [transfer ownership](/docs/headless-cms/transfer-stack-ownership) to another user or [delete the stack](/docs/administration/organization-stacks#delete-a-stack).

To leave a stack, log in to your [Contentstack account](https://www.contentstack.com/login/) and perform the following steps:

1.  Go to your [stack](/docs/headless-cms/about-stack) and click the “Settings” icon or use the shortcut key “S” (for Windows and Mac OS users).
2.  Click **Leave Stack** and confirm your action.
    
    ![Leave Stack option in Contentstack settings](https://images.contentstack.io/v3/assets/blt2d43f51baca745a8/blt225f86190bccbaae/67bf131e53fc5e3d4ab183be/Setup-a-Stack_Leave-a-Stack_Leave-Stack-_Button.png "image_tooltip")
    

Once you leave the stack, you will lose access to its content. This action **cannot** be undone.