Releases

A ‘Release’ is a set of entries and assets that needs to be deployed (published or unpublished) all at once to a particular environment. 

If you are using a CMS to manage and publish your content, you know that publishing large amounts of time-sensitive content (for example, when there’s a product launch, press release, or sales promotion) is a daunting task. You have publish multiple entries/assets and their publishing status, and, in most cases, you have to find and keep track of the content pieces one by one. This is a time consuming process, and is prone to errors.  

Releases dramatically simplifies this task for you. You simply pin all the required entries and assets to a ‘Release’. When you deploy this Release, all the pinned items are published/unpublished at the same time to whatever environment you choose.

Working With Releases.png


Note: To use Releases with web framework, you will need contentstack-express ver 3.1.9 or above.

Create a new Release

Let’s understand the process of creating a new Release in your Contentstack account.

  1. Click on the ‘Releases’ link on the header.
  2. On the new page that appears, click the ‘+ Create New Release’ button.
    Create new release button.png
  3. Enter a suitable title and description for the Release. Click ‘Create’.
    Create new release.png

This will create a new Release in your Contentstack account.

Add entry/asset to a Release

In order to add an entry or asset to a Release, follow the steps given below:

  1. Go to the entry or asset page that you want to add to a Release.
  2. Click the inverted caret (the downward facing arrow icon) located adjacent to the Publish or Unpublish icon.
  3. Select the ‘Add to Release’ option.
    Add to release button.png
  4. A new dialog box will appear, where you are prompted to select one of the two available options: ‘Choose existing Release’ or ‘Create new Release’. The first option lets you add the entry/asset to an existing Release, while the latter lets you create a new Release, and then add the entry/asset to that Release.
  5. If you select ‘Choose existing Release’, you will see the list of all the available Releases in the dropdown bar. From the list, select the one to which you want to add the entry/asset. Click ‘Add’.
    Choose existing release option.png
  6. If you select ‘Create New Release’, enter the name and description of the Release, and then click ‘Add’. This will create a new Release in your account’s ‘Releases’ section, and add the entry/asset to this new Release.
    Create new release modal option.png

Note: You can add maximum 200 items (entries/assets) to a Release.

Remove entry/asset from a Release

To remove an entry or asset from a Release, follow the steps given below:

  1. Click on the ‘Releases’ link on the header.
  2. From the list of existing Releases, click on the one from which you want to remove an entry/asset.
  3. You will see the list of all the items added to this Release. Locate the entry/asset that you want to remove from the Release.
  4. Click the ‘Remove’ icon/link available on the right-hand side of the item.
    Remove item from a release button.png
  5. In the 'Remove item from Release' modal, click 'Delete' again to confirm.

Deploy a Release

Deploying a Release means performing the selected action (publish/unpublish) to the items of a Release associated with an environment. So, for instance, let’s assume that you have added five items to a Release (3 for publishing and 2 for unpublishing). When you deploy this Release, the three items added with a publish action will be published, and the two with an unpublish action will be unpublished, all at once.  

Here’s the process of deploying a Release once all the required items are added to it:

  1. Click on the ‘Releases’ link on the header.
  2. From the list of existing Releases, go to the Release that you want to deploy. 
  3. On the items list page, at the bottom, you will see the ‘Deploy’ button.
    Deploy release.png
  4. Clicking on ‘Deploy’ will open the ‘Deploy Release’ modal.
  5. Select the environment(s) on which you want to deploy the Release. 
  6. Select if you want to deploy the Release ‘Now’ or ‘Later’. If you select ‘Now’, and then ‘Deploy’, Contentstack will instantly deploy all the added items on the specified environment. If you select ‘Later’, you need to specify the date and time at which the Release should be deployed, and then click ‘Deploy’.
    Deploy release modal.png

Note: Once you deploy a Release on an environment, the items are locked. This means that you cannot add/remove items from this Release. You can, however, deploy items to another environment (or redeploy on the same environment) or clone the Release.   

Clone a Release

Since deployed Releases are ‘locked’ (i.e., you cannot make any changes to Release items), the only way to re-use existing deployed Releases are to clone them. Cloning a Release means creating a copy of an existing Release along with all the items within it. After cloning a Release, you can make the necessary changes to its items, and then use the updated Release.  

Let’s look at the process of cloning a Release:

  1. Click on the ‘Releases’ link on the header.
  2. From the list of existing Releases, locate the one that you want to create a copy of. 
  3. Hover on the Release, and the click the three vertical dots (or more options icon) that appear on the right-hand side.
    Clone a release.png
  4. Click ‘Clone’ from the available options.
  5. A new modal window that opens, enter the name and description of the Release.

Delete a Release 

To delete a existing Release, follow the steps given below:

  1. Click on the ‘Releases’ link on the header.
  2. From the list of existing Releases, locate the one that you want to delete. 
  3. Hover on the Release, and the click the three vertical dots (or more options icon) that appear on the right-hand side.
    Delete a release.png
  4. Click ‘Delete’ from the available options. 

This will delete the specified Release from your Contentstack account.

Was this article helpful?
top-arrow