Organization is the top-most entity in the hierarchy of entities in Contentstack. Users, stacks—and consequently, the resources within the stacks—are part of an Organization. As a result, an Organization lets you manage users and stacks from one administrative panel.
Organizations serve two main purposes:
The Organization feature is primarily for administrators. It lets them manage roles and permissions for the users and stacks of the account.
If you own or are part of multiple Organizations, your stacks will reside in the respective Organizations they were created in.
To switch from one organization to another, click the ‘ORGANIZATION’ tab in the header, and select the Organization that you wish to access. Once selected, you will be able to see the stacks of the Organization.
In order to work on a stack, a user must be part of the Organization that contains the stack. Note that a user cannot be directly invited to a stack without also being invited to an Organization. Learn how to invite a user to an Organization.
In Organizations, three predefined roles are available that can be assigned to a user: Owner, Admin, and Member. Custom roles cannot be created in an Organization, however, customer roles are still available and can be created for stacks. Let’s understand the three predefined roles in detail.
The Owner is the user who owns the Organization (and the subscription plan) in Contentstack. The Owner has maximum privileges, which includes the ability to:
A user with the Admin role is next in the hierarchy. This role has all the rights that the Owner enjoys, except access to billing details and the right to transfer ownership. The permissions for this role include:
Next in the hierarchy is the Member role. The rights of the role can be modified by the Owner or the Admin user. The user with the Member role does not have access to the Organization settings panel. Therefore, details such as Organization info, usage metrics, and so on are not visible to this user. The rights of this role include:
In this section, you can find all the details and settings related to your Organization. This section is visible only to the Owner and Admin users of the Organization. To access settings, click on the Organization name visible on the header. Hover on the name of the Organization (visible in the dropdown list) of which you want to access the settings, and click the ‘settings’ icon that appear. You will be redirected to the page from where you can manage the settings.
Here, you can find the ‘Name’ and the ‘ID’ of the Organization. These details cannot be modified.
Note: To modify these details, you can contact our Support team.
‘Transfer Ownership’ lets you transfer the ownership of the Organization to any other user. To do this, click on ‘Transfer Ownership’ and enter the email address of the user you wish to transfer ownership to.
This will send an email invitation to the user to accept ownership of the Organization. Once the user accepts the invitation, you will be assigned the ‘Member’ role, with access to only the stacks that you have created or that were share with you.
The ‘Plan and Usage’ page provides the details of your subscription plan (i.e., maximum limits, expiry date) and gives a quick overview of the overall usage of the entities within your Organization.
This page is visible only to the Owner and Admin users of an Organization, providing them with a convenient snapshot of overall usage.
The ‘Users’ section displays all users in the Organization. It also lets you add and manage users in the Organization.
Click ‘Invite User’ located in the top right-hand side corner of the page. In the new page that appears, enter the email address and the Organization role that needs to be assigned to the user. Only the Owner and the Admin users can invite new users, and only ‘Admin’ and ‘Member’ roles can be assigned to the new users.
Once you assign a role, you can share any stacks in the Organization with the user by selecting the role that you wish to assign for the stack. Finally, click ‘Invite’ to invite the user.
Note: If users are invited to an Organization, they won’t be able to do anything if they aren’t added to any stacks.
For Single Sign-On (SSO) enabled organizations, the process of inviting users works similarly. The only difference is that if ‘Strict Mode’ is disabled for your SSO organization, you may get an additional checkbox ‘Allow access without SSO’ on this screen. Checking this box ensures that the invited user can access the SSO-enabled organization using his/her Contentstack credentials, instead of IdP credentials. Read more.
To remove an existing user from the Organization, hover over the user and click on the vertical ellipses to the right. Click ‘Remove’ and confirm your decision to remove the user from the Organization.
Once a user is removed from an Organization, he/she will lose access to all stacks contained in it.
To change the role of a user, click on the user from the list to open the 'Update User' page. Change the role of the user as required and click on 'Update'.
Here, you see the list of all the stacks created under the currently selected Organization.
From this page, you can perform the below action.
To delete a stack, hover on the stack, click on the vertical ellipsis that appear on the right, and click 'Delete'. Confirm your decision to delete the stack permanently.