Role Mapping

No Result Found

To add new IdP users to your SSO enabled organization, just add them to any of your IdP group or role (in your IdP settings) that is mapped with Contentstack roles. They can then directly login to Contentstack (via SSO) with the corresponding permissions.

If you want to provide a different set of permissions to some users, create a new group/role in your IdP, and add users to this group. Subsequently, add the mapping for this group in Contentstack SSO user settings.

To invite external users, disable Strict Mode and invite them as usual from Contentstack from Organization Settings. Remember to select the Allow login without SSO checkbox.

Yes. Only the roles received from your IdP for the users will be honored. This means that, on enabling IdP Role Mapping, the existing roles assigned to the users will be overridden by the roles assigned to IdP groups. This, however, is not applicable for external users (i.e., users who log in without SSO to your SSO-enabled organization).

Please note that there is no way to revert the changes that were overridden by your IdP roles. The roles that were assigned to users prior to enabling IdP Role Mapping are erased.

If you disable IdP Role Mapping, Contentstack no longer honors roles (and permissions) returned by your IdP. There are, however, no changes to the existing permissions of the users in Contentstack. Users continue to maintain the permissions that they had.

However, subsequent to disabling IdP Role Mapping, role management can be done only through Contentsatack’s Users and Roles settings.

Was this article helpful?

Thanks for your feedbackSmile-icon