Stack FAQs

No Result Found

To get the API key and Access Token of your stack, log in to your Contentstack account, and perform the following steps:

  1. Go to your stack, navigate to the “Settings” gear icon, and select Stack.
  2. On the right-hand side of the page, under API CREDENTIALS, you will get the API Key and Access Token of your stack.

Note: We have deprecated Access Tokens for all stacks, and we will soon stop supporting it. We recommend using Delivery Tokens to access published content and Management Tokens for making content management API requests.

The API key of the stack remains constant and you cannot change it. However, you can reset the Access Token by performing the following steps:

  1. Go to your stack, navigate to the “Settings” gear icon, and select Stack.
  2. On the right-hand side of the page, under API CREDENTIALS, you will get the API Key and Access Token of your stack.
  3. Click on the Reset button to reset the Access Token.

Yes. To do this, perform the following steps:

  1. Go to the stack where you want to add a user.
  2. Hover over the “Settings” gear icon, and select Users.
  3. Click on the + Invite User button located at the top right corner of the page.
  4. The Invite User forms opens up where you can add the following details:
    1. Email: Enter the email address(es) of the user(s) you want to invite and share the stack with
    2. Roles: Select the role(s) that you want to assign to the new user
    3. Message (optional): Enter a short message that goes along with the invitation to the user
  5. Click on Invite.

Yes, you can remove an existing user from a stack if you have required permissions.

Note: The stack owner has the right to remove any user from a stack. But, an admin or developer can only remove a user whom they have added.

To remove a user, log in to your Contentstack account, and perform the following steps:

  1. Go to the stack from which you want to remove the user.
  2. Hover over the “Settings” gear icon, and select Users.
  3. Hover over the user you want to delete, click on the “More Options” icon (three vertical dots) that appear at the extreme right, and click on Remove.
  4. Confirm the Remove action to permanently remove the user from the stack.

Yes, you can. To do so, perform the following steps:

  1. Go to your stack, navigate to the “Settings” gear icon on the top, and select Stack.
  2. Click on Transfer Ownership on the bottom right.
  3. Enter the email address of the person to whom you want to transfer the stack’s ownership.

    Note: Make sure the intended user is already a Contentstack user.

  4. Click on Transfer.

Note: Only the owner can transfer the ownership of their stack to other Contentstack users.

A “stack” is like a container that holds all the content related to an application or a project. Within a stack, you can create content types that could be either of the “Content Block” type or the “web page” type.

A stack and a “Content Block” content type are two different elements, and serve different purposes. To learn more, refer to the Stacks and Content Block section.

This could be because you do not have the required permissions to create content types in your stack. The owner of the stack defines the roles and permissions of a user while sharing the stack with the user. Kindly contact the stack owner to enable this for your account.

Note: Only the Organization owner or Stack creator/owner has the right to delete a stack.

To delete a stack, log in to your Contentstack account, and perform the following steps:

  1. Open the stack that you want to delete.
  2. Hover on the “Settings” gear icon at the top and select Stack.
  3. Click on Delete Stack.delete-stack.jpg
  4. Confirm the Delete action to delete your stack permanently.

Alternatively, if you are an Organization Owner, you can delete a stack through the Organizations Settings page by following the steps mentioned in the Delete a stack section.

Was this article helpful?

Thanks for your feedbackSmile-icon