---
title: "Delete a Team"
description: "Learn how to delete an existing team in Contentstack."
url: "https://www.contentstack.com/docs/administration/delete-a-team"
product: "Contentstack"
doc_type: "guide"
audience:
  - developers
  - admins
version: "current"
last_updated: "2026-07-30"
---

# Delete a Team

Contentstack allows you to delete an existing team created in your organization.

## Prerequisites

*   [Contentstack account](https://www.contentstack.com/login/)
*   Organization [Owner or Admin](/docs/administration/about-administration-roles) permissions
    
    **Note**: Only the Organization **Owner** or **Admin** can delete teams created by other stakeholders.
    
*   An existing [team](/docs/administration/create-a-team)

## What You Will Learn

*   How to delete a team from your organization.
    
*   What happens to member permissions when a team is deleted.
    

## Delete a Team

To delete a team, log in to your [Contentstack account](https://www.contentstack.com/login) and perform the following steps:

1.  Navigate to **Administration** through the "App Switcher", and select **Teams**.
2.  In the **Actions** column for the team you want to delete, click the vertical ellipsis, then click the **Delete** option (trash bin icon).
3.  In the **Delete Team** modal, click **Delete Team** to confirm.

**Warning**: Deleting a team removes the roles it assigns, and its members lose the permissions they inherited from the team.

## Related Resource

*   [Administration API: Delete a team](/docs/developers/apis/administration-api/teams#delete-a-team)